Moving Forward: The Next Step

P1000511

A few weeks ago I set-up a Facebook page to promote my upcoming copyediting services. Today, I’m fleshing it out, beefing it up, adding to it. There’ll still be more to do later on, as other ideas come to mind or become apparent, and as this venture grows: its own email account, a website, an actual business license(?), and so forth and so on.

This has been sooooo long in finally coming, this getting going, in a real sense, with having my writing begin to financially support me. Well, okay. This isn’t writing, nor “my writing,” per se. But it is something writing-centered that I can do, that I do well (when you consider where I currently am in the scheme of things copyediting-wise), and that hopefully will begin getting monies coming in from someplace other than my current hospital job.

And, speaking of which, I’ve recently had yet another nudge from the Universe reminding me that I really do need to start taking action in transitioning away from the sort of work that I took on when I moved here, out of necessity, and toward the heart-centered vocational writing stuff that I moved here to do. In numerous ways, things are now lined up favorably. There’s never gonna a perfect, risk-free, easy time to do this; but this current time is the widest opening I’ve had since moving here. Best to squeeze in, now, while the door is at its most opened.

The next phase of my plan to start some sort of professional freelance writing. In order to get things started, to get my foot in the door and my name out there, and in order to (once again) get non-hospital-job funds coming in, I might initially have to take on the writing of copy, and other sorts of writerly jobs, that I’m not particularly fond of and that I’d really rather not pursue. But I’ve gotta start somewhere, and even the “bottom” of the professional writers’ pit will still be getting paid to write.

Onward and (eventually) upward.

Leave a comment

Filed under Changing Perspective, Honoring Your Writing and Your Being a Writer

Leave a Reply

