Outta Dodge

About a week ago, I saw how work was getting to me, so I planned an overnight visit to Telluride. Back when I booked my room, the weather was fine, but this is Colorado. On the two days leading up to yesterday’s arrival, Telluride got dumped on, and was even under a winter storm warning, halfway through the evening before I got here. However, because this is Colorado, the skies cleared, and I arrived in glaring sunlight. Kinda makes me think this trip was meant to be.

Just another typical Telluride street.

Just another typical Telluride street.

Once I’d solidified my plans to come, I contacted Rosemerry Wahtola Trommer, to see if she’d be able to help me with my poeming. She’s currently busy, even for her, yet she made time. So much resulted from our session, so much she had to say and suggest, I wish I’d been able to somehow record the session. So much is likely lost because I didn’t write it immediately down after we parted. (But then, that’s how life goes: We’re never able to get it all; we just do our best, continually carrying on with what we have.)

I’ve never spent just a single night In Telluride. It seems odd to be turning around today, already, to head back home. And I arrived here with no plan, no agenda (other than my meeting w/Rosemerry). I simply needed and wanted some time away, to get outta Dodge, to regain another perspective. To finally catch the breath that kept escaping me.

And by all systems of my measure, it does seem to have been such a getting my feet back under me, of having gotten back into better synch with the world. But, this has been me visiting Telluride; so, of course, there’s been more. No small part of what’s taken place has touched on personal issues which tie into the recalibration mentioned previously. But it seems this trip is being about strengthening my writing. About showing me how it’s fecundly threaded throughout my life. Showing me other ways to access it, other ways to bring it to bear. Then, all this also ties back to, “[getting] into better synch with the world.”

So, I reckon this overnight in Telluride has been about transitioning from sinking to synching.

Leave a comment

Filed under Changing Perspective, Honoring Your Writing and Your Being a Writer, re: Writing

Leave a Reply

