Homeward Bound

This’ll likely be another not-about-writing post. And it’s a bit “early,” this being Tuesday rather than Thursday.

This afternoon, my father passed away. It was sudden in that he and I spoke on the phone, last Monday, and he sounded fine. It’s perhaps not so sudden in that he quickly afterward began turning for the worse, winding up in the Emergency Department, and then the ICU, yesterday. He was in and out of consciousness. His kidneys had shut down. His breathing and bp persisted in bottoming out every time he was taken off the oxygen mask.

So, early tomorrow morning, I’ll be driving down to San Antonio. Mom’s still alive, but currently in rehab. Like Dad, she’s been in shaky and fragile health for months and months, if not years. October of last year, we three kids (I’ve one older brother, one older sister) visited Mom and Dad, helping them celebrate their 60th wedding anniversary. They celebrated 61 years while they were both in rehab. Now, there’ll be a whole other round of different anniversaries.

I’m a writer, so there’ll be more on this subject in some form or another. Maybe even here.

Adios.

2 Comments

Filed under Parental Passing

2 responses to “Homeward Bound

  1. Terry A. Ricks

    Ed,
    We have just found out about the passing of your Dad. It is very sad news. I was hoping to try to put together a reunion of the South Texas Mountain Men. I had sent you Dad and Mom a message in a Christmas card in 2013. I am deeply sorry that I was not able to make that happen, especailly because you Dad responded with a note that said “Go for it!”
    Richard Morris and I will be creating a Vigil Shield for your Dad. If you have any ideas about what to put on it please sent it to Richard or me. I grieve with you!! Your Dad was much more than a friend to me

    Terry Ricks

  2. Steve Skinner

    So sorry to hear about your dad. Great guy. I have thought about your parents frequently, expecially when I get my dutch oven out. We will miss him. Please tell your mom hi for me.

Leave a Reply

